Winter Rim and Tires - Hyundai Elantra Sport Turbo Forum
 20Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 92 (permalink) Old 08-13-2017, 08:05 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Winter Rim and Tires

Hi Everyone,

I'm Mone from Toronto, and just joined this Forum. I've bought (but not yet received) a White 2017 Sport. I originally was going to buy a regular Elantra, and ended up getting a free car (more like a beater), and then found out that a Sport would be available at some point. I'm now (soon to be), a new owner. And very excited.

Because I'm a resident of Toronto, we get winter weather, and I am researching a winter tire and steel rim combination. I'm not sure what is available? I know there are some concerns, with front wheel caliper size, and perhaps some other things...

I was hoping other members could suggest or share what they have come up with in this area. I'm looking for (if it works), a 16 in steel rim, and a tire, that is the same overall size as the stock 18 in rim and tire. Also, if nessassary to get the tire sensors.

Thank you in advance.
post #2 of 92 (permalink) Old 08-13-2017, 08:27 AM

Garage
The spare is a 16" wheel.

A 6.5" wide wheel with an offset around 30 will sit about the same outer position as the stock wheels. A 7" wide wheel with a 40mm offset will sit about the same as the stock wheels.

Erik B.
Wisconsin Autocrossers _/\_ _/\_ _/\__/\__/\_
SCCA PDX Instructor--MKE Region
Milwaukee, USA
post #3 of 92 (permalink) Old 08-13-2017, 09:05 AM

The car doesn't come with tire sensors up here, so you can save by not getting those.

post #4 of 92 (permalink) Old 08-13-2017, 10:19 AM

Tires.