Sputtering at 4k RPM AND BEYOND - Hyundai Elantra Sport Turbo Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 02:41 PM Thread Starter

Exclamation Sputtering at 4k RPM AND BEYOND

So my 17 es 6spd manual is sputtering after 4k rpm. It seems to be holding power back and jerking me in the car when I floor it after this point. Is this normal for the turbo elantra? I'm at dealer and they say it may be normal for hyundai turbos. They also said that since I have an aftermarket intake and the blow off valve is not connected to the intake that this could be the issue but its only been doing this for a couple months now. I have a 6 inch rubber pipe over the blow off valve and it is venting to atmosphere and have a chair stopper with a clamp around the spot where the hole would be where the blow off valve would connect to the intake. I have been running the car like this for about 6 months or longer now and it just started doing it a short while ago. It mainly jerks me and the rpm jumps around at around 4k when I am in 4th gear and flooring it above 70mph. Please help. The dealer is fucking stupid and has no idea what they are talking about and couldn't give me any advice.

Has anyone else run into this issue at about 70+mph on highway in a manual trans flooring it and the car seems to sputter and jerk you a bit in the car?

Please help!!!
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 03:43 PM

My ES is completely stock internally and I don't have that issue. Has the dealer done a pressure test?

2017 Electric Blue Elantra Sport 6MT w/ Premium pkg
2017 Rebel Blue V60 Polestar
Previous:
2008 E63 AMG wagon
2002 Audi S6 Avant
2001.5 Audi S4 (stage 2+)
1994 Acura Integra RS
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 04:18 PM
Super Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Voodoo Idol
Can you give more detail as to what you mean by "jumps around"?

post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 04:49 PM Thread Starter