Elantra Sport Forum banner

Winter Rim and Tires

49K views 91 replies 32 participants last post by  Joshrobi33 
#1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I'm Mone from Toronto, and just joined this Forum. I've bought (but not yet received) a White 2017 Sport. I originally was going to buy a regular Elantra, and ended up getting a free car (more like a beater), and then found out that a Sport would be available at some point. I'm now (soon to be), a new owner. And very excited.

Because I'm a resident of Toronto, we get winter weather, and I am researching a winter tire and steel rim combination. I'm not sure what is available? I know there are some concerns, with front wheel caliper size, and perhaps some other things...

I was hoping other members could suggest or share what they have come up with in this area. I'm looking for (if it works), a 16 in steel rim, and a tire, that is the same overall size as the stock 18 in rim and tire. Also, if nessassary to get the tire sensors.

Thank you in advance.

#2 ·
The spare is a 16" wheel.

A 6.5" wide wheel with an offset around 30 will sit about the same outer position as the stock wheels. A 7" wide wheel with a 40mm offset will sit about the same as the stock wheels.

#4 ·
Tires.

The front rotors are to large for 16" wheels. The 17" that come on the higher end regular Elantras will fit for the stud pattern and are large enough on their inside diameter to calipers. Any winter wheel and tire combo that you would run on a Elantra limited should work fine on the Sport. There is a tire comparison chart online to verify the outside tire diameter. I may be selling my truck and if I do I will be buying winter tires and wheels for the ES. Look at Canadian Tire for there selection and some idea of price. I am in NB Canada so I am looking at some snow as well. lol.

#5 · (Edited)