Elantra Sport Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the modding world, so sorry if this is a dumb question. I'm looking into getting the SXTH short ram intake system. My primary goals are power/throttle response and increased fuel economy. If a cool "pssh" sound comes with these things, then great, if not then no worries as this is just a neat thing. Should I get the BPV or the BPV delete, the OEM breather or the breather delete kit, and why?

·
Registered
12 Posts
I'm in the same boat, there are 4 different configurations, I don't understand what the deletes do exactly and I've heard people saying one of the deletes can be hard on your turbo, I want to do a catch can to stop exhaust gunk getting back into my intake, I have figured out that much, but I still don't understand which configuration to order to accomplish that.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Same here on the catch can, I know i'm getting one of those. SXTH has some catch cans for the sport, but $330 seems pricey. I've reached out to SXTH about the best options for my priorities, and they said that it is essentially the same thing, but everything on the internet says otherwise, which is why I wanted to ask the knowledgeable folks on here. To their credit, they were kind and responded quickly. I just don't understand why you would have multiple configurations for the sport if they are the same thing. Hopefully someone knows the correct answer and can explain it in a way that my dumb brain can follow.

·
Registered
2,958 Posts
BPV delete just lets the stock bypass valve vent to atmosphere. It is LOUD. If you like it that way, go for it. I personally still have the stock BPV recirculating into my SXTH intake and the sound is still clearly audible but toned down a bit and IMO the sound quality is better.