Elantra Sport Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am still quite new to modifying/tuning in general, I know the basics. (Like what it does and such). But I had a few questions hopefully people can answer for me

1 - I was wanting to buy a HKS BOV from sxthelement, would I need any other parts or just the flange and BOV?

2 - Would a stock exaust be fine in the future if I want more power from tuning/boltons? It sounds so nice I would love to keep it, if I can possibly go Cat-less with the stock exaust that would be so nice to get that extra power gain

3 - Any good tires for the summer I can purchase? Stock ons are just garbage beyond belief I can not even grip well in rain, or when I need that extra speed off the line

4 - Has people been getting paint chips a bunch? I have had my car since August and I have 2 stone chips on the hood and what looks like a door hit the side of my door on the other that went extremely deep (Right to steel for every chip it is terrible and I may have cried:(

If anyone can answer any of these I would be blessed! Thanks!

Hamilton, On
Josh R
'18 DCT ES

·
Registered
336 Posts
For #2, you could keep everything stock and just do a chip tune and you would see gains. Just know that you'll have to run 91 octane or higher from then on out as a requirement. Adding a modified airbox would see some gains as well whilst keeping everything stock. For me, I'm not doing any mods on this car as I bought it specifically for the long warranty. I'm aware of the Magnuson–Moss Warranty Act, but in reality good luck trying to convince the dealer that a specific mod did/didn't cause an issue when going in for a warranty claim.

For #3, I'm a big fan of Michelin Pilot Sports. I'm currently running AS3+ and it is a significant upgrade from the stock Hankook tires.