Elantra Sport Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all. Not an ES owner but ive been browsing these forums for several months now. Im coming to a point in time of wanting to replace my current daily driver of over 5 years (moderately modded 01 tdi jetta) and i really want something thats much faster than my jetta but in stock form, and with a warranty. Im kind of stuck between the 6 speed ES and the Focus ST. I really dont like hatchbacks but id really like that extra 50 horsepower and subsequent acceleration the focus has to offer. Ive read a topic here where a couple people came over from ST's. Of course im going to get biased responses by posting on an ES forum but id appreciate any input on the matter from people that actually own these cars. Im all ears!

·
Registered
244 Posts
Hey all. Not an ES owner but ive been browsing these forums for several months now. Im coming to a point in time of wanting to replace my current daily driver of over 5 years (moderately modded 01 tdi jetta) and i really want something thats much faster than my jetta but in stock form, and with a warranty. Im kind of stuck between the 6 speed ES and the Focus ST. I really dont like hatchbacks but id really like that extra 50 horsepower and subsequent acceleration the focus has to offer. Ive read a topic here where a couple people came over from ST's. Of course im going to get biased responses by posting on an ES forum but id appreciate any input on the matter from people that actually own these cars. Im all ears!
I was in same position as you, I test drove an ST. The ST is not that much faster. I believe it's slightly heavier. For it came down to reliability hands down the Elantra has the advantage and more comfortable. At the end it's your decision! Good luck!

·
Registered
341 Posts