Elantra Sport Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my 17 es 6spd manual is sputtering after 4k rpm. It seems to be holding power back and jerking me in the car when I floor it after this point. Is this normal for the turbo elantra? I'm at dealer and they say it may be normal for hyundai turbos. They also said that since I have an aftermarket intake and the blow off valve is not connected to the intake that this could be the issue but its only been doing this for a couple months now. I have a 6 inch rubber pipe over the blow off valve and it is venting to atmosphere and have a chair stopper with a clamp around the spot where the hole would be where the blow off valve would connect to the intake. I have been running the car like this for about 6 months or longer now and it just started doing it a short while ago. It mainly jerks me and the rpm jumps around at around 4k when I am in 4th gear and flooring it above 70mph. Please help. The dealer is fucking stupid and has no idea what they are talking about and couldn't give me any advice.

Has anyone else run into this issue at about 70+mph on highway in a manual trans flooring it and the car seems to sputter and jerk you a bit in the car?

Please help!!!

·
Registered
240 Posts
My ES is completely stock internally and I don't have that issue. Has the dealer done a pressure test?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I floor it from 4th gear and 5th gear above 4k rpm and sometimes the rpm gauge bounces and the car seems like it is holding back power like it doesn't want to go harder. The Dealer said to reinstall the factory intake system and bring it back in and then they would test it, but they said since the k&n cold air intake is not connected directly to the blow off valve that this could potentially be the issue but they have no idea. I took the mechanic for a drive and he stated it seemed like a normal hyundai turbo function.

·
Registered
20 Posts